You are here

Stuart Cooper

  • Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Eng
  • 420 CBEC
    151 W. Woodruff Ave.
    Columbus, OH 43210
  • 614-247-8015



  • Ph.D., Princeton University, 1967
  • B.S., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1963


Professor Cooper, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, conducts research in the areas of polymer physics, block polymers, ionomers, polyurethanes, and biomaterials.

Known for his immense contributions both in fundamental understanding and in technological application, Cooper is a true pioneer in the biomaterials field, having broken vital new ground in understanding interactions of polymeric materials with physiological fluids and tissues since more than 40 years ago.

He is known worldwide for his fundamental work on phase separation in block polymers, which are responsible for the good mechanical properties of many widely-used polymers such as the polyurethanes used in the high-performance thermoplastic elastomer industry. He also led the field in defining biomedical polyurethanes from both a chemical and physical perspective, and wrote two major books in the field. His early research integrating chemical engineering with the then-emerging discipline of biomedical engineering has much advanced polymer blood compatibility and biocompatibility. 

He is no longer accepting graduate students.
















































































































  • December, 2014-
    December, 2017

    Elected to Council.

  • December, 2015


  • June, 2014

    AIChE Founders Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Field of Chemical Engineering.

  • April, 2013

    Chemistry of Thermoplastic Elastomers Award.

  • April, 2011

    Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Award for Excellence in Engineering Education.

  • April, 2011

    National Academy of Engineering.

  • April, 2010

    Founders Award.

  • March, 2005

    Johansen-Crosby Lecture.

  • January, 1997

    International Award for Achievement in Biomaterials.

  • January, 1992

    Founding Fellow.

  • January, 1987

    Clemson Award.

  • January, 1987

    Charles M.A. Stine Award.