Skip to main content

Umit Ozkan elected to the National Academy of Engineering


In recognition of her research in electrocatalysis and elucidation of mechanisms of oxidation catalysis, Distinguished University Professor Umit S. Ozkan has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), one of the highest professional distinctions an engineer can receive.

Umit Ozkan

Also chair of the William G. Lowrie Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Ozkan is an internationally recognized leader in thermal-catalytic and electro-catalytic manipulations of hydrocarbons. She has edited eight books, written over 250 refereed publications and book chapters, and delivered more than 350 conference presentations and 150 invited lectures in 20 different countries. A holder of eight patents, Ozkan has served or continues to serve on the editorial boards of Catalysis TodayJournal of Molecular CatalysisThe Royal Society of Chemistry Catalysis Book SeriesACS Applied Energy MaterialsJournal of Catalysis and Nature Sustainability, among several others. 

Ozkan is a former Fulbright Scholar and a Fellow of AAAS, the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) and the American Chemical Society (ACS). Her many awards and honors include receiving the 2023 ACS George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry. Also in 2023, she became the first woman to receive the North American Catalysis Society Burwell Lectureship Award, the most prestigious national honor given by the Society. In 2017, she became the first woman recipient of the ACS Energy and Fuels Division Henry H. Storch Award. She was honored in 2019 when Catalysis Today published a special issue dedicated in her honor, and in 2013, a special volume of the premier journal Topics in Catalysis celebrated her achievements with contributions from 35 research groups from 12 different countries, following a three-day ACS Symposium in celebration of the ACS Petroleum Chemistry Distinguished Researcher Award that she received in 2012.

In her research group, Dr. Ozkan has advised and mentored over 100 graduate students, post-doctoral researchers and honors students.  She received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the Middle East Technical University in Turkey and her PhD from Iowa State University.

Ozkan is among 135 new NAE members for the Class of 2024, which also includes Ohio State's Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Integrated Systems Engineering Antonio Conejo. The 2024 elections bring the total U.S. membership to 2,310 and the number of international members to 332. Individuals in the newly elected Class of 2024 will be formally inducted during the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, DC on September 29.

“We are all extremely fortunate to collaborate with and learn from Antonio and Umit, who give so much of themselves to their profession and to Ohio State,” said College of Engineering Dean Ayanna Howard. “With five new NAE members in the past two years, it is increasingly apparent that our faculty rank among the best in the nation.”

Within the William G. Lowrie Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (CBE), Ozkan's election to the National Academy of Engineering means that a total of five CBE professors have now received the prestigious honor. Last year, Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Food, Agricultural and Biological Engineering Judit E. Puskas was elected in the Class of 2023. Distinguished University Professor and C. John Easton Professor in Engineering Liang-Shih Fan was elected to the NAE in 2001, and Distinguished Professor of Engineering W.S. Winston Ho was elected in 2002. Distinguished University Professor and Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering Stuart L. Cooper received the honor in 2011.


Category: Faculty
Tag: Ozkan