Professor Xiaoxue Wang wins ORAU Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award

Posted: June 16, 2021

Assistant Professor Xiaoxue Wang, who joined the William G. Lowrie Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering in September 2019, has been chosen as one of 35 recipients of the Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award by the Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) Consortium.

Professor Wang's nomination was chosen from among 156 applications and 89 member institutions. She will receive $5,000 from ORAU, matched with an equal amount from Ohio State. The award will help support Dr. Wang's research on energy-efficient AI devices based on conjugated polymers.

Through specialized teams of experts and a consortium of more than 100 universities, Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) provides innovative scientific and technical solutions for the U.S. Department of Energy and other federal agencies to advance national priorities in science, health and education.  

Professor Wang's research focuses on structure-property engineering of electronic polymers to advance the fundamental understanding of charge and heat transport mechanisms; fabrication of advanced electronic devices for energy-efficient artificial intelligence (AI) based on conjugated polymers and applying machine learning to boost the design of green synthetic pathways for drug-like organic molecules and novel electronic materials.

Professor Wang has published 21 peer-reviewed papers to date, including articles in Science AdvancesAdvanced Materials​Chemical Science, Nature, Advanced Functional MaterialsAdvanced Energy MaterialsACS Applied Materials & Interfaces, and ACS Sensors. ​She has also published one book chapter and filed two US patents.

Before coming to Ohio State, Dr. Wang was a postdoctoral associate at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where she worked on applying machine learning in chemical synthesis.

She received her PhD in chemical engineering in 2018 from MIT, where she received the MRS Graduate Student Silver Award (2018), the ChemE Practice School Fellowship (2014), and the Robert T. Haslam Fellowship (2012). Her advisors at MIT were Karen Gleason (PhD) and Klavs Jensen (post-doctoral). 

Dr. Wang won multiple prizes, honors, and scholarships at Tsinghua University, where she earned her BS in chemical engineering.

Category: Faculty